The Hamburger Bahnhof is holding an exhibition entitled Under Construction, which will present the latest additions to the Nationalgalerie collection. The museum has been able to acquire these new objects over the past few years thanks in large part to funding from the Freunde der Nationalgalerie.

Ever since the institution was founded in 1861, the collection of the Nationalgalerie has continually been expanded to include contemporary works from each passing era. The collection has been “under reconstruction” since the exhibition and research project Hello World: Revising a Collection (2018), which reflected on the political and cultural ramifications of the Nationalgalerie’s approach to collecting, and called for non-Western art movements and transcultural approaches to be incorporated into the museum’s practices and collections.

In a presentation of selected new acquisitions, which since 2005 have been made possible in great part thanks to the support of the Stiftung des Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie für zeitgenössische Kunst, the Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin is showing works by international artists in various media, including painting, installation, sculpture, video and works on paper.

Through their different approaches, aesthetics, themes and reference points, these works influence how we look at both past and present, while evolving the collection and challenging and negotiating its function as the identity of the museum. Over the course of the exhibition, audiences will be able to see how these works are able to constantly produce new readings, with the museum serving as the site of a lively process of interrogation and interpretation.

Artists: Nairy Baghramian, Eduardo Basualdo, Thea Djordjadze, Ceal Floyer, Sandra Gamarra Heshiki, Melvin Moti, Manfred Pernice Martin Städeli, Mariela Scafati, Dierk Schmidt, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Bartolina Xixa und Julio González. Curated by Gabriele Knapstein, Alice Koegel, Curatorial Assistant: Luisa Bachmann

This exhibition was made possible by the Freunde der Nationalgalerie.

A special exhibition by the Nationalgalerie – Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Plan your visit

EXHIBITION VENUE

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Invalidenstraße 50/51, 10557 Berlin-Mitte

RUN TIME

2. June 2022 – 15. January 2023

https://www.smb.museum/hamburger-bahnhof

TICKETS
Regulär: 8 Euro
Ermäßigt: 4 Euro

Price includes Collection

PUBLIC TRANSPORT

S+U-Bahn, Tram and Bus: Hauptbahnhof

OPENING HOURS

Monday
closed
Tuesday
10 – 6 pm
Wednesday
10 – 6 pm
Thursday
10 – 8 pm
Friday
10 – 6 pm
Saturday
11 – 6 pm
Sunday
11 – 6 pm

SPECIAL HOURS ON HOLIDAYS
Whitsun (Sat 04.06. – Mon 06.06.) 11-6pm
German Unification Day (Mon. 03.10.) 11-6pm
Christmas Eve (Sat 24.12.) closed
1. Day of Christmas (Sun 25.12.) 11-6 pm
2. Day of Christmas (Mon 26.12.) 11-6 pm
New Year’s Eve (Sat 31.12.2022): closed
New Year’s Day(Sun 01.01.2023): 12 – 6pm

Education and Outreach

Guided Tours and workshops

OFFERS FOR ADULTS

Exclusive! Bookable offers for groups
Duration: 60 minutes
German: 90 €, plus entrance fee
English: 100 €, plus admission
maximum 15 participants
Bookable by phone +49 (0)30 266 42 42 or by e-mail to
service@smb.museum

Please book your guided tour at least 14 days in advance.

 

Public guided tours
New acquisitions
Sun / 2pm / 5.6.,12.6.,19.6., 26.6.3.7., 10.7.,17.7., 24.7., 31.7., 7.8., 14.8., 21.8., 28.8., 4.9., 11.9., 18. 9., 25.9., 2.10., 9.10., 16.10., 23.10., 30.10., 6.11., 13.11., 20.11., 27.11., 4.12.,11.12., 18.12., 25.12. 2022
During the tour of the exhibition “Under Construction,” new acquisitions will be discussed by way of example and questions about the reconstruction of the collection will be negotiated. What cultural and political conditions determine collecting? How can a collection of the Museum für Gegenwart develop further and reflect current topics?
Participation free of charge, plus admission
Limited number of participants.

 

One to One
Sun / 11 a.m. – 1 p.m. / 5.6.,12.6.,19.6., 26.6.3.7., 10.7.,17.7., 24.7., 31.7., 7.8., 14.8., 21.8., 28.8., 4.9., 11.9. , 18.9., 25.9., 2.10., 9.10., 16.10., 23.10., 30.10., 6.11., 13.11., 20.11., 27.11., 4.12.,11.12., 18.12., 25.12. 2022
Art mediators* invite you to short dialogues in the exhibition. Be on the lookout! You will find the contact persons* in the exhibition.
Languages: German, English, Arabic, Spanish, Hungarian.

Free of charge with admission ticket.

From a curatorial point of view
The curators will guide you through the exhibition. They will provide background on the presentation, reflect their perspectives on the works and answer your questions.

Thu / 6pm / 14.7.2022 / Gabriele Knapstein

Thu / 6 pm / 22.9.2022 / Alice Koegel

 

OFFERS FOR YOUNG PEOPLE DURING THE VACATIONS

 

Workshop
Exhibit!
Tue – Thu / 11 am – 2 pm / 25 – 27.10.2022 (three days)
Who is behind an exhibition? Who decides what we see and how? In this workshop you will be behind the scenes yourself and talk to the people who develop and build exhibitions. What topics do you find important and what would you present and how? Based on the exhibition “Under Construction” you will build a model of your own exhibition.

Youths 13 years and older
Participation fee: 36 €
Limited number of participants.
Online booking required: www.smb.museum/veranstaltungen
Meeting point: Ticket office / Information

 

OFFERS FOR SCHOOLS

Admission to the National Museums in Berlin is free for schoolchildren in conjunction with a moderated event.

 

Workshop
EXHIBIT, SET UP, PUT DOWN?
How are works of art staged in the museum? What idea, theme, and structure underlie the arrangement of exhibition spaces? What roles do the selection of artworks play, as well as wall color, lighting, and flooring? The students use their observations to talk about the practice of presenting and exhibiting. In the studio, they try out their own ideas for exhibition design.

Secondary level I – II
Workshop
120 minutes / 60 €
Max. 25 participants
Exhibition discussion
Showcase, wall and pedestal. What if?
What if the artwork is not in the showcase, but the showcase itself is the artwork? What if the staging is the main component of the artwork? In the exhibition “Under Construction”, students examine works by artists who deal with production conditions and forms of presentation of art.

Secondary level I – II
Exhibition talk
90 minutes | 45 €
Max. 25 participants

 

OFFER FOR TEACHERS

The collection as the identity of the museum
13.09.2022, 3 – 5 p.m.
In the exhibition “Under Construction” Hamburger Bahnhof shows selected new acquisitions by international artists* in different media. The presentation poses fundamental questions about the current challenges and necessities in the further development of collections as the identity of the museum.

After a tour through the exhibition, the programs for students will be presented and tested in an activity-oriented way.

Target group: Teachers GS, SEK I, SEK II
Subjects: Art

 

Education and outreach at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

The Department of Education, Outreach, and Visitor Services is the central educational institution of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin and, as such, is entrusted with the conception and implementation of offerings in all 15 collections. With a wide range of events, the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin address different user groups: Children and families, young people and adults, daycare centers, schools, universities and other educational institutions, individual visitors and groups of visitors.

 

You can find the entire education and outreach program of the National Museums in Berlin at: www.smb.museum.

 

Information and booking
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Education, Outreach, Visitor Services
Tel. +49 30 266 42 42 42 (Mo-Fr 9-16 Uhr)
E-Mail: service@smb.museum
www.smb.museum

Corona protective measures

Corona Protection

Please see our website for the latest information on visiting our museums and participating in events: www.smb.museum/informationen-corona.

Further Information

Information and Booking
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Education, Mediation, Visitor Services
Phone: +49 30 266 42 42 (Mon – Fri 9 am – 4 pm)
E-mail: service@smb.museum

Education and Outreach at the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

The Education, Outreach and Visitor Services Department is the central educational institution of the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin and, as such, is entrusted with the conception and implementation of offerings in all 15 collections. With a diverse range of events, the Staatliche Museen zu Berlin address different user groups: Children and families, young people and adults, daycare centers, schools, universities and other educational institutions, individual visitors and groups of visitors.

You can find the entire education and outreach program of the National Museums in Berlin at: www.smb.museum.

www.smb.museum/bildung-vermittlung

INFORMATION AND BOOKING

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Education, Mediation, Visitor Services
Tel +49 (0) 30 266 42 42 (Mon-Fri, 9am-4pm)
service@smb.museum
www.smb.museum

The complete education and outreach program of the National Museums in Berlin can be found at www.smb.museum/bildung-vermittlung

Hamburger Bahnhof - Museum für Gegenwart

More Information

Partner

More Information

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart –  Berlin, Invalidenstraße 50/51. Photo by David von Becker

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Unter dem Titel „Under Construction“ zeigt der Hamburger Bahnhof Neuerwerbungen für die Sammlung der Nationalgalerie, die in den vergangenen Jahren vorrangig mit Mitteln und Unterstützung der Freunde der Nationalgalerie ermöglicht wurden. 

Die Sammlung der Nationalgalerie wird seit der Gründung der Institution im Jahr 1861 um zeitgenössische Kunstwerke der jeweiligen Epochen erweitert. „Im Umbau“ befindet sich die Sammlung in jüngerer Zeit insbesondere seit dem Ausstellungs- und Forschungsprojekt „Hello World. Revision einer Sammlung“ (2018), das die politischen und kulturellen Rahmenbedingungen des Sammelns reflektierte und eine Erweiterung der Bestände der Nationalgalerie um nicht-westliche Kunstströmungen und transkulturelle Ansätze verfolgte. 

In einer Präsentation ausgewählter Neuerwerbungen, wie sie seit 2005 insbesondere durch die Stiftung des Verein der Freunde der Nationalgalerie für zeitgenössische Kunst ermöglicht werden, zeigt der Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin Werke von internationalen Künstler*innen in unterschiedlichen Medien – Malerei, Installation, Skulptur, Video und Arbeiten auf Papier.

Durch ihre je eigenen Ansätze, Ästhetiken, Themen und Wahl ihrer Referenzen prägen diese Arbeiten mit, wie wir auf Vergangenheit und Gegenwart blicken und die Sammlung als Identität des Museums weiterentwickeln, herausfordern und verhandeln. Dass und wie diese Werke beständig neue Lesarten zu produzieren vermögen, wird sich über die Zeit im Museum als Schauplatz lebendiger Auseinandersetzung zeigen. 

Künstler*innen: Nairy Baghramian, Eduardo Basualdo, Thea Djordjadze, Ceal Floyer, Sandra Gamarra Heshiki, Melvin Moti, Manfred Pernice Martin Städeli, Mariela Scafati, Dierk Schmidt, Daniel Steegmann Mangrané, Bartolina Xixa und Julio González. Kuratiert von Gabriele Knapstein, Alice Koegel, Kuratorische Assistenz: Luisa Bachmann

Die Ausstellung wird ermöglicht durch die Freunde der Nationalgalerie.

Eine Sonderausstellung der Nationalgalerie der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin

Besuch planen

AUSSTELLUNGSORT

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin

Invalidenstraße 50/51, 10557 Berlin-Mitte

LAUFZEIT

2. Juni 2022 – 15. Januar 2023

https://www.smb.museum/hamburger-bahnhof

EINTRITT
Regulär: 8 Euro
Ermäßigt: 4 Euro

Eintritt inkl. Sammlung

VERKEHRSVERBINDUNGEN

S+U-Bahn, Tram und Bus: Hauptbahnhof

ÖFFNUNGSZEITEN

Montag
geschlossen
Dienstag
10 – 18 Uhr
Mittwoch
10 – 18 Uhr
Donnerstag
10 – 20 Uhr
Freitag
10 – 18 Uhr
Samstag
11 – 18 Uhr
Sonntag
11 – 18 Uhr

SONDERÖFFNUNGSZEITEN AN FEIERTAGEN
Pfingsten (Sa. 04.06. – Mo.06.06.) 11-18 Uhr
Tag der Deutschen Einheit (Mo. 03.10.) 11-18 Uhr
Heiligabend (Sa. 24.12.) geschlossen
1. Weihnachtsfeiertag (So. 25.12.) 11-18 Uhr
2.Weihnachtsfeiertag (Mo. 26.12.) 11-18 Uhr
Silvester (Sa. 31.12.2022): geschlossen
Neujahr (S0. 01.01.2023): 12 – 18 Uhr

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

YouTube

Mit dem Laden des Videos akzeptieren Sie die Datenschutzerklärung von YouTube.
Mehr erfahren

Video laden

Bildung und Vermittlung

Führungen und Workshops

ANGEBOTE FÜR ERWACHSENE

Exklusiv! Buchbare Angebote für Gruppen
Dauer: 60 Minuten
Deutsch: 90 €, zzgl. Eintritt
Englisch: 100 €, zzgl. Eintritt
maximal 15 Teilnehmer*innen
Buchbar telefonisch unter +49 (0)30 266 42 42 42 oder per E-Mail an
service@smb.museum

Bitte buchen Sie Ihre Führung mindestens 14 Tage im Voraus.

 

Öffentliche Führungen
Neuerwerbungen
So / 14 Uhr / 5.6.,12.6.,19.6., 26.6.3.7., 10.7.,17.7., 24.7., 31.7., 7.8., 14.8., 21.8., 28.8., 4.9., 11.9., 18.9., 25.9., 2.10., 9.10., 16.10., 23.10., 30.10., 6.11., 13.11., 20.11., 27.11., 4.12.,11.12., 18.12., 25.12. 2022

Während des Rundgangs durch die Ausstellung „Under Construction“ werden exemplarisch Neuerwerbungen besprochen und Fragen zum Umbau der Sammlung verhandelt. Welche kulturellen und politischen Rahmenbedingungen bestimmen das Sammeln? Wie kann sich eine Sammlung des Museums für Gegenwart weiterentwickeln und aktuelle Themen abbilden?
Teilnahme kostenfrei, zzgl. Eintritt
Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl.

 

Eins zu Eins
So / 11 – 13 Uhr / 5.6.,12.6.,19.6., 26.6.3.7., 10.7.,17.7., 24.7., 31.7., 7.8., 14.8., 21.8., 28.8., 4.9., 11.9., 18.9., 25.9., 2.10., 9.10., 16.10., 23.10., 30.10., 6.11., 13.11., 20.11., 27.11., 4.12.,11.12., 18.12., 25.12. 2022

Kunstvermittler*innen laden Sie zu kurzen Zwiegesprächen in die Ausstellung ein. Halten Sie Ausschau! Sie finden die Ansprechpartner*innen in der Ausstellung.
Sprachen: Deutsch, Englisch, Arabisch, Spanisch, Ungarisch

Kostenfrei mit Eintrittsticket.


Aus kuratorischer Sicht
Die Kuratorinnen begleiten Sie durch die Ausstellung. Sie liefern Hintergründe zur Präsentation, spiegeln ihre Perspektiven auf die Werke und beantworten Ihre Fragen.

Do / 18 Uhr / 14.7.2022 / Gabriele Knapstein

Do / 18 Uhr / 22.9.2022 / Alice Koegel

 

ANGEBOTE FÜR JUGENDLICHE IN DEN FERIEN

 

Workshop
Stell doch mal aus!
Di – Do / 11 – 14 Uhr / 25. – 27.10.2022 (dreitägig)
Wer steckt hinter einer Ausstellung? Wer entscheidet was wir wie sehen? In diesem Workshop stehst du selbst hinter den Kulissen und sprichst mit den Menschen, die Ausstellungen entwickeln und aufbauen. Welche Themen findest du wichtig und was würdest du wie präsentieren? Anhand der Ausstellung „Under Construction“ baust du ein Modell deiner eigenen Ausstellung.

Jugendliche ab 13 Jahren
Teilnahmegebühr: 36 €
Begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl.
Online-Buchung erforderlich: www.smb.museum/veranstaltungen
Treffpunkt: Kasse / Information

ANGEBOTE FÜR SCHULEN

Für Schüler*innen ist der Eintritt in die Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin in Verbindung mit einer moderierten Veranstaltung kostenfrei.

Workshop
AUSSTELLEN, AUFSTELLEN, ABSTELLEN?
Wie werden Kunstwerke im Museum inszeniert? Welche Idee, welches Thema und welche Struktur liegen der Einrichtung der Ausstellungsräume zugrunde? Welche Rollen spielen Auswahl der Kunstwerke, aber auch Wandfarbe, Beleuchtung und Bodenbelag? Die Schüler*innen nutzen ihre Beobachtungen, um über die Praxis des Präsentierens und Ausstellens zu sprechen. Im Atelier erproben sie eigene Ideen zur Ausstellungsgestaltung.

Sekundarstufe I – II
Workshop
120 Minuten / 60 €
Max. 25 Teilnehmende
Ausstellungsgespräch
Vitrine, Wand und Sockel. Was, wenn?
Was, wenn das Kunstwerk nicht in der Vitrine steht, sondern die Vitrine selbst das Kunstwerk ist? Was, wenn die Inszenierung Hauptbestandteil des Kunstwerkes ist? In der Ausstellung „Under Construction“ untersuchen die Schüler*innen Werke von Künstler*innen, die sich mit Produktionsbedingungen und Präsentationsformen von Kunst beschäftigen.

Sekundarstufe I – II
Ausstellungsgespräch
90 Minuten | 45 €
Max. 25 Teilnehmende

 

ANGEBOT FÜR LEHRER*INNEN
 
Die Sammlung als Identität des Museums
13.09.2022, 15 – 17 Uhr
Der Hamburger Bahnhof zeigt in der Ausstellung „Under Construction“ ausgewählte Neuerwerbungen von internationalen Künstler*innen in unterschiedlichen Medien. Die Präsentation stellt grundsätzliche Fragen nach den aktuellen Herausforderungen und Notwendigkeiten in der Weiterentwicklung von Sammlungen als Identität des Museums.

Nach einem Rundgang durch die Ausstellung werden die Programme für Schüler*innen vorgestellt, sowie handlungsorientiert erprobt.

Zielgruppe: Lehrkräfte GS, SEK I, SEK II
Fächer: Kunst

 

Bildung und Vermittlung bei den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin

Das Referat Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste ist die zentrale Bildungseinrichtung der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin und als solche mit der Konzeption und Umsetzung von Angeboten in allen 15 Sammlungen betraut. Mit einem vielfältigen Veranstaltungsangebot richten sich die Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin an verschiedene Nutzergruppen: Kinder und Familien, Jugendliche und Erwachsene, Kindertageseinrichtungen, Schulen, Universitäten und andere Bildungseinrichtungen, Individualbesucher*innen und Besuchergruppen.

 

Das gesamte Bildungs- und Vermittlungsprogramm der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin finden Sie unter: www.smb.museum.

 

Information und Buchung
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste
Tel.: +49 30 266 42 42 42 (Mo-Fr 9-16 Uhr)
E-Mail: service@smb.museum
www.smb.museum

Hinweise zu Corona

Corona Schutzmaßnahmen
Bitte entnehmen Sie die aktuellen Informationen zum Besuch unserer Museen und zur Teilnahme an Veranstaltungen unserer Website: www.smb.museum/informationen-corona.

 

Weitere Informationen

Information und Buchung
Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste
Tel.: +49 30 266 42 42 42 (Mo – Fr 9 – 16 Uhr)
E-Mail: service@smb.museum

Bildung und Vermittlung bei den Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin

Das Referat Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste ist die zentrale Bildungseinrichtung der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin und als solche mit der Konzeption und Umsetzung von Angeboten in allen 15 Sammlungen betraut. Mit einem vielfältigen Veranstaltungsangebot richten sich die Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin an verschiedene Nutzergruppen: Kinder und Familien, Jugendliche und Erwachsene, Kindertageseinrichtungen, Schulen, Universitäten und andere Bildungseinrichtungen, Individualbesucher*innen und Besuchergruppen.

Das gesamte Bildungs- und Vermittlungsprogramm der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin finden Sie aktuell unter: www.smb.museum.

INFORMATION UND BUCHUNG

Staatliche Museen zu Berlin
Bildung, Vermittlung, Besucherdienste
Tel +49 (0) 30 266 42 42 42 (Mo-Fr, 9-16 Uhr)
service@smb.museum
www.smb.museum

Das vollständige Bildungs- und Vermittlungsangebot der Staatlichen Museen zu Berlin finden Sie unter www.smb.museum

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart – Berlin

Mehr Informationen

Partner

Mehr Informationen

Hamburger Bahnhof – Museum für Gegenwart –  Berlin, Invalidenstraße 50/51. Foto: David von Becker